Dihlabeng to pay Eskom R12 million monthly



Dihlabeng Municipality comprising Clarens, Fouriesburg and Paul Roux will pay Eskom R12 million per month.

This after the municipal council made a decision last week to finalize a payment plan for Eskom. Dihlabeng’s spokesperson Tsheliso Maitse said the municipality’s debt is approximately R54 million excluding the month of August this year. He said the payment plan will stretch till November 2015 and explained that they have implemented a financial strategy.

“The financial plan is a revenue enhancement, robust implementation of debt collection strategy and cost containment measures. We shouldn’t have been in this situation if all our rate payers were paying as they are supposed to. We would like to thank those who have been paying and also urge those that are not paying to please start paying the debt so that the municipality doesn’t find will not find itself in this situation of owing Eskom or any other service provider again,” he said.

Ngwathe Municipality comprising Parys, Vredefort, Heilbron and Koppies and Maluti-a-Phofung Municipality which consists of Qwa-Qwa, Harrismith, and Kestel are the other two eastern Free State Municipalities owing Eskom. The three municipalities are expected to submit a payment plan to Eskom by the end of August regarding their debt.