Barry starts against Scarlets


The Toyota Cheetahs have made one change to their starting XV to face Scarlets tomorrow evening in the Guinness Pro14.

Craig Barry comes in for the injured Luther Obi to make his run-on debut.

This has led to Sibhale Maxwane being named on the bench for what will be his Cheetahs debut.

Scarlets in their turned named the live-wire flanker James Davies on the flank as his returns from injury.

The Stormers loan player, Herschel Jantjies, has been named on the bench.

Last week the Cheetahs once again impressed with a big 33-13 win over Edinburgh in Bloemfontein. The Scarlets in their turn hand to come from behind beat a determined Southern Kings 34-30 in Port Elizabeth.

The Cheetahs captain, Torsten van Jaarsveld, said that there is no reason why they cannot beat Scarlets.

“Scarlets are a new team for us. They are a different team so we will adjust our game plan accordingly.

“I think Scarlets will be a very good challenge for us, especially late in the year after having played a lot of rugby.

“The guys are very excited and cannot wait to be challenged by them. They are definitely a team that we can beat at home.”

Last weeks’ win was somewhat and historical one for the team seeing that is meant that had beaten at least one team from each of the four European national competing in the competition.

Saturday evenings game in the Toyota Stadium kicks off at 19:35.

Toyota Cheetahs – 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Craig Barry, 13 William Small-Smith, 12 Nico Lee, 11 Makazola Mapimpi, 10 Fred Zeilinga, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Junior Pokomela, 7 Rynier Bernardo, 6 Tier Schoeman, 5 Reniel Hugo, 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Aranos Coetzee, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld (captain), 1 Charles Marais.
Replacements – 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Ox Nche, 18 Tom Botha, 19 Jasper Wiese, 20 Daniel Maartens, 21 Tian Meyer, 22 Tertius Kruger, 23 Sibhale Maxwane.

Scarlets – 15 Johnny Mcnicholl, 14 Tom Prydie, 13 Steff Hughes (captain) 12 Paul Asquith, 11 Ioan Nicholas, 10 Dan Jones, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Will Boyde, 7 James Davies, 6 Tadhg Beirne, 5 David Bulbring, 4 Lewis Rawlins, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Ryan Elias, 1 Dylan Evans.
Replacements – 16 Taylor Davies, 17 Rhys Fawcett, 18 Simon Gardiner, 19 Steven Cummins, 20 Josh Macleod, 21 Herschel Jantjies, 22 Ioan Hughes, 23 Morgan Williams. – MORGAN PIEK