SA MX season concludes at Tempe

Wian du Plooy may not have won the SA National title in 2020, but once again he proved to be in a league of this own. PHOTO: MORGAN PIEK

The 2020 motocross season drew to a close over the past weekend with the SA National Motocross Championship double-header held at the Tempe MX track on the outskirts of Bloemfontein. The event on Saturday and Sunday saw a total of nine new national champions being crowned.

The event provided some thrilling racing between the best the country has to offer in the searing Bloemfontein heat. The local riders didn’t quite do as well as what was expected, but there were a few standout performances nevertheless.

Tristan Purdon reigned supreme in the MX1 class, while Anthony Raynard won the MX2 title. Ian Topliss was the overall champion in the MX3 class, while Kayla Raaf is the SA Ladies’ MX champion.

The 125cc High School title belongs to Jonathan Mlimi, Bryce Petersen took the U15 85cc Pro Mini crown, while Liam Botha is the U13 85cc champion. Neil van der Vyver is the U11 65cc champion, and Trenton Kretzman is the 50cc champion for 2020.

On the local front, it was so close for Wian du Plooy of Bloemfontein, who had to settle for the runners-up tag for 2020, despite a fantastic weekend on the track for the Grey College learner. While, Pieter Brink, also earned a win in the U13 85cc class.

Brink broke Botha’s unbeaten run of wins this season with a win during race two on Saturday.

Du Plooy and Petersen slugged it out throughout the weekend, with the local rider coming out on tops over this counterpart from Pietermaritzburg. One can only imagine that had the season not been shortened by the Covid-19 pandemic, Du Plooy, may just have been the one to end the season with the number one plate. – MORGAN PIEK