Petzer starts flyhalf against Munster, Venter back as captain

Francois Venter PHOTO: MORGAN PIEK

The young Robbie Petzer will be making his Guinness Pro14 debut tomorrow when the Toyota Cheetahs tackle Munster at Thomond Park in Limerick.

Petzer will start at flyhalf for the match, with Clayton Blommetjies moving back to fullback.

Francois Venter comes back into the team at outside centre, and takes over the teams’ captaincy from Niell Jordaan.

Sergeal Petersen and Makazole Mapimpi will play on the wing with Rosko Specman injured.

Upfront the experienced Rynier Bernardo starts in the second-row with Justin Basson being rotated out of the squad. Armandt Koster comes onto the bench.

Venter told Courant that he cannot wait to take to the field in his 1st Pro14 game.

“It’s a great challenge for us, Munster is a great side and I think they are the favourites to be number one in this competition.

“For us it’s a learning curve. We have a good week behind us, the preparation has gone well.

“There are a lot of work-ons’ but we’re learning as we go. The conditions are a bit different than that we’re used to.

The fields are a bit heavier, but it actually suites us. We just need to find a good balance between attack and kicking, but the prep has gone well.”

From a personal point of view, Venter, added that he is relishing the opportunity to play in the competition after missing out last week.

“I’m just excited to pull the Cheetahs jersey over my head and be a part of this competition.

“It’s a nice and exciting one to be playing against Munster.

“I’m just keen on getting onto the park and hopefully we can be on the winning side and cause an upset.

Tomorrow’s clash at Thomond Park kicks off at 18:15.

Munster – 15 Andrew Conway, 14 Darren Sweetnam, 13 Chris Farrell, 12 Jaco Taute, 11 Alex Wootton, 10 Ian Keatley, 9 Duncan Williams, 8 Liam O’Connor, 7 Rhys Marshall, 6 Stephen Archer, 5 Jean Kleyn, 4 Billy Holland (captain) 3 Sean O’Connor, 2 Tommy O’Donnell, 1 Jack O’Donoghue.

Replacements – 16 Niall Scannell, 17 Dave Kilcoyne, 18 John Ryan, 19 Fineen Wycherley, 20 Robin Copeland, 21 James Hart, 22 Rory Scannell, 23 Simon Zebo.

Toyota Cheetahs – 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Francois Venter (captain), 12 William Small-Smith, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Robbie Petzer, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Niell Jordaan, 7 Henco Venter, 6 Tier Schoeman, 5 Reniel Hugo, 4 Rynier Bernardo, 3 Aranos Coetzee, 2 Jacques du Toit, 1 Charles Marais.

Replacements – 16 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 17 Ox Nche, 18 Tom Botha, 19 Armandt Koster, 20 Gerhard Olivier 21 Tian Meyer, 22 Ali Mgijima, 23Rayno Benjamin. – MORGAN PIEK