OFM honoured with 13 Liberty Radio nominations

OFM General Manager, Nick Efstathiou

Central South Africa’s largest radio station, OFM, has been nominated as the Station of the Year in the prestigious Liberty Radio Awards for 2018. Lerato Leila, host of the southern split of Mid-morning Magic, has done the station proud by winning the Bright Star Award, which she will receive at the awards ceremony.

Lerato Leila

OFM has also received 11 more nominations for the Liberty Radio Awards, the only industry-wide awards in South African radio that seek to recognise the cream of the crop in the radio industry. The nominations were announced on Monday 19 March and OFM received the third highest number of nominations in the country as it competed with some of South Africa’s most established commercial radio stations. The only other two stations that received more nominations were Power 98.7 FM and Kaya FM, which are both based in Gauteng. Categories in which OFM has been nominated include the following:
Afternoon Drive Presenter – Darren Scott
Afternoon Drive Show – Just Plain Drive with Darren Scott
Multi-channel Promotion – Kom Ons Fees
Night-time Show – A Touch of Thabang
Promotions Stunt/Event – The Big Breakfast with Martin van der Merwe
Sports Presenter – Darren Scott
Sports Show – Extra Time with Darren Scott
Station Imaging
Three nominations have been received for the Weekend Radio Show, Saturday Express with WR van der Merwe, the Saturday Sports Show with Adrian Botha and the Absolute ’80s Radio Show.
OFM General Manager, Nick Efstathiou, said: “OFM is incredibly proud of our 13 nominations. We are especially excited that we have completely dominated the Commercial Weekend Radio category! I would like to congratulate all who have worked hard to make these nominations happen. Hopefully, we can get a few wins for Central South Africa!”
Meanwhile, the CEO of the Radio Awards, Lance Rothschild, said: “We wish to congratulate all the category finalists. Achieving finalist status earmarks you among the best-of-the-best. We’re grateful to all those who have submitted entries into this year’s programme and we encourage those who have not made it to finalist status to strive to raise the standard of radio to ensure a bright future for the industry.” Winners will be announced and celebrated at the Sandton Convention Centre on Saturday 14 April.

Pulane Choane