50% of FS mayors retained their positions

ANCYL's NEC member Mojalefa Buti, ANC Free State Chairperson Ace Magashule and Provincial Secretary William Bulwane. KATLEHO MORAPELA

The chairperson of the ANC in the Free State, Ace Magashule, says they tried to ensure that they have 50% of mayors who retained their old positions after the 2016 Municipal Elections.

Magashule was speaking at a media briefing on Thursday where 23 newly elected mayors were introduced.

The briefing took place at the ANC Provincial Offices at the Kaizer Sebothelo Building in Bloemfontein.

Magashule mentions that mayors, who have been retained, are from among others the Tokologo, Mafube, Thabo Mofutsanyana, Letsemeng, Nala and Maluti-a-Phofung Municipalities.

“Where the mayor of a certain municipality, like Dihlabeng, was not retained, it would be that that particular mayor, in most instances, have finished their two terms they were supposed to serve. This is in terms of the Local Government Act. Some of our mayors were on the party’s candidate list but in terms of our performance, according to the PR councillor system, they couldn’t make it. Some of the mayors were on top of our list but they just couldn’t secure any positions. One of the mayors was number 2 on the list and we then only got one PR seat from that particular municipality. At the end we had to make sure that we merge the party’s guidelines,” he said.

Magashule also mentioned that they have retained a lot of council speakers.