Vice-Chancellor’s Awards held at CUT

Winners in the Innovation award category are from the left: Prof. Alfred Ngowi, Acting Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Research Innovation and Engagement; Mr Jacques Combrinck, Lecturer: Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering; Prof. Willie du Preez, Professor: Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology; Mr Lebohang Masheane, Technical Assistant: Mechanical Engineering; Mr Johan Els, Project Engineer: CRPM, Mr Gerrie Booysen, Director CPRM and Prof. Henk de Jager, Vice-Chancellor and Principal.

“Excellence is a continuous moving target that can be pursued through actions of integrity, being the front-runner in terms of products/services provided. The recipients of our excellence awards are indeed the fore-runners at the Central University of Technology, Free State.”

These were the words of commendation from Prof Henk de Jager, Vice-Chancellor and Principal at the annual Vice-Chancellor’s Excellence Awards held at CUT last week.

The annual VC’s Awards aim to acknowledge the exceptional performance of staff members for their sustained and outstanding achievement in research, innovation, teaching, curriculum innovation, community engagements and support services, which are aligned with the university’s vision of social and technological innovations in delivering quality education in the higher education landscape.

For the first time this year the awards included a category on entrepreneurship, which aligned with the university’s aspiration of “reimagining CUT as a transformative, entrepreneurial, engaged university and model University of Technology in Africa and beyond”.

Another new category is the Support Staff Award, which is also a symbol of progress in embracing the Human Project theme, that states that everyone must have a sense of belonging, of feeling important and be able to reach their full potential.

The three main categories are Category A (teaching and curriculum innovation awards), Category B (research and innovation awards) and Category C (community engagement award).

The winners in the different categories were:

Category A: Teaching and curriculum innovation

Early Career Teaching Award: Ms IK Sebelogo, Faculty of Health and Environmental Sciences

Advanced Career Teaching Award: Prof. DK Das, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology (IT)

Category B:  Research and Innovation

Early Career Research Award: Dr B Awuzie, Faculty of Engineering & IT

Established Researcher Award:  Prof. PJ Fourie, Faculty of Health and Environmental Sciences

Category C: Community Engagement

Mr A Mhlaba, Faculty of Engineering & IT

Category D: Innovation and Entrepreneur)

Innovation Award:  Mr LR Masheane, Prof. WB du Preez, Mr J Combrinck, Mr GJ Booysen and Mr J Els from the Faculty of Engineering & IT, Centre for Rapid Prototyping and Manufacturing

Entrepreneurship Award: Ms J Coetzer, Faculty of Engineering and IT

Category E – Support Staff (new category in 2017)

Mrs M Mbeo, Middle Management, Junior Management, Specialists, Faculty of Engineering & IT and;

Mr F Motlhanke, Administrative staff, Administration: IT & Logistics

Among the dignitaries who graced the event are families of the recipients, CUT members of Council, Cllrs Dr Sylvan Seane, Lesiba Sebola and Sylvester Mosoeu, Senate and SRC members.