Van Jaarsveld leads Cheetahs against defending champions


The Namibian international, Torsten van Jaarsveld, will lead the Toyota Free State Cheetahs on Thursday night when they host the Golden Lions in the Currie Cup.

Van Jaarsveld takes over the captaincy with the scrumhalf, Tian Meyer, being rotated to the bench.

The backline has been reshuffled with Shaun Venter and Niel Marais starting ahead of Meyer and Fred Zeilinga, while William Small-Smith returns after missing out on the 38-30 win against the Sharks.

Armandt Koster has been named on the bench again, while Tienie Burger has also been named among the replacements.

The Cheetahs currently lead the starting with 24 points from their five games, while the Lions are still hunting for an away win this season.

Van Jaarsveld told OFM Sport the only team they want to measure themselves against is themselves.

“We don’t really want to measure ourselves against any team,” said Van Jaarsveld.

“We have out standards and we’ve been doing quite well, especially at scrum wise.

“We know that they have good strong pack, it will be a good test for us and we know we’re going to going into the match as underdogs so we’ll definitely go and battle it out.”

Thursday evening’s match between the Cheetahs and Lions at the Toyota Stadium kicks off at 19:00.

Toyota FS Cheetahs – 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Rayno Benjamin, 13 Nico Lee, 12 William Small-Smith, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Niel Marais, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Henco Venter, 7 Uzair Cassiem, 6 Paul Schoeman, 5 Reniel Hugo, 4 Justin Basson, 3 Tom Botha, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld (Captain), 1 Ox Nche.

Replacements – 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Charles Marais, 18 Armandt Koster, 19 Tienie Burger, 20 Niell Jordaan, 21 Tian Meyer, 22 Fred Zeilinga.

Golden Lions – 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Selom Gavor, 13 Jacques Nel, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Jaco van der Walt, 9 Ross Cronje (Captain), 8 Fabian Booysen, 7 Cyle Brink, 6 Kwagga Smith, 5 Andries Ferreira, 4 JP du Preez, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Dylan Smith.

Replacements –  16 Akker van der Merwe, 17 Pieter Scholtz, 18 Martin Muller, 19 Ruan Ackermann, 20 Dillon Smit, 21 Ashlon Davids, 22 Howard Mnisi. – MORGAN PIEK