Top teachers to be awarded tonight


Top teachers are set to be awarded tonight at the Free State National Teacher’s Awards in Bloemfontein. Free State Department of Education spokesperson, Howard Ndaba says the awards are held annually to honour teachers who are dedicated, creative and effective. Ndaba says the awards also help to encourage great practice in school and focus the public’s attention on the positive aspects of education.

Teachers will be awarded in the following categories: Excellence in Primary School Teaching; Excellence in Secondary School Teaching; Excellence in Primary School Leadership; Excellence in Secondary School Leadership; Excellence in Grade R teaching; Excellence in ICT Enhanced Teaching; Excellence in Special Needs Training; and Lifetime Achievements awards.

Former University of Witwatersrand academic, Professor Mary Metcalfe, is expected to be the guest speaker and highlight the inspirational role teachers play in learners’ lives. Metcalfe is currently a lead sector specialist of Social Infrastructure at the Development Bank of Southern Africa.