Shimlas target second spot in VC standings

Nakkie Naude PHOTO: SASPA

The University of the Free State have their sights set on the second place in the Varsity Cup standings when they tackle the University of Johannesburg in Bloemfontein on Monday evening.

The Shimlas are currently third in the standings, however, the second placed Wits host the leaders, the University of Stellenbosch Maties, in Johannesburg in round five.

Thus far the men in Blue have won two away matches (Tuks and Ikeys), and their only home game to date. This home was a comprehensive win over Wits.

The captain, Johan Kotze, told Courant securing home wins are very important and they want to turn Shimla Park into a fortress.

“Securing those away wins really gave us a great boost in the race for the top four spots.

“Winning our home games are also very important to use as well would like to make Shimla Park as fortress, much the same as some of the great Shimla teams have done in the past.

“UJ on the other does definitely pose a great threat and we cannot take them lightly.

“We’ll have to come out all guns blazing if we want to chalk up another victory.”

This game at Shimla Park kicks off at 19:00. At 16:45 Wits tackle Maties, at 18:30 the North West University Pukke are away to the NMMU Madibaz and the UCT Ikeys entertain the University of Pretoria Tuks at the Green Mile in Cape Town.

Shimlas – 15 Sechaba Matsoele, 14 Athi Halom, 13 Ayabonga Oliphant, 12 Carel-Jan Coetzee, 11 Gideon Agenbag, 10 Nicholas Naude, 9 Rewan Kruger, 8 Benjamin Jansen van Vuuren, 7 Menzi Nhlabathi, 6 Jan Cloete, 5 Henk Pretorius, 4 Sibabalo Qoma, 3 Janu Botha, 2 Hanno Snyman, 1 Louis Cloete.

Replacements- 16 JC Jansen van Vuuren, 17 Wentzel Vorster, 18 Johan Kotze, 19 Raymond Woest, 20 Rholane Ncubuka, 21 Zinedene Booysen, 22 Olehile Losaba, 23 Tiaan Schutte.

UJ – 15 Ronald Brown, 14 Tatendaishe Mujawo, 13 Jan-Louis la Grange, 12 Mayibongwe Maduna, 11 Odwa Nkunjana, 10 Kobus Engelbrecht, 9 Bradley Thain, 8 Wian Conradie, 7 Adriaan Bester, 6 James Venter, 5 Estian Enslin, 4 Kevin du Randt, 3 Nico du Plessis, 2 Jannes Snyman (captain), 1 Sibusiso Lali

Replacements – 16 Le Roux Baard, 17 Dillon Bakos, 18 Siyabonga Luwaca, 19 Malembe Mpofu, 20 Johan Esterhuizen, 21 JeanLuc Cillier, 22 Austic-Marc Davids, 23 Cohen Kiewit. – MORGAN PIEK