Shimlas hunt for second Varsity Cup upset


Round two of the Varsity Cup kicks off on Monday afternoon when the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan Madibaz host the University of Cape Town Ikeys in Port Elizabeth.

The hosts enjoyed a bye last week, while the Tigers were beaten by Wits at the Green Mile in the Mother City.

This game gets underway at 16:45.

At 18:30 the impressive University of Stellenbosch Maties host the University of the Free State Shimlas at the Danie Craven Stadium.

The Maties were rampant last week with a good win over the University of Johannesburg, while the Shimlas stunned the much more fancied University of Pretoria Tuks in the capital city.

The Shimlas captain, Johan Kotze, told Courant that they can pull off another upset this evening.

“The win against the defending champions has given us a lot of confidence going into the game against the Maties.

“I’ve very proud of the way the boys stepped up against Tuks, to show a lot of character to pull the game through.

“Maties on the other hand will definitely be a whole new challenge. They have a lot of Varsity Cup experience and we will have to be clinical in every aspect of the game if we want to pull this one through.

“The boys are ready and we will show the same fight as we did against Tuks.”

At the same time UJ host Tiaan Liebenberg’s Central University of Technology Ixias in Johannesburg and at 19:00, Wits are at home to Tuks.

The North West University Pukke enjoy a bye in round two.

Maties – 15 Reinardt Fortuin, 14 Duncan Saal, 13 Cornel Smit, 12 Chris Smit, 11 Edwill van der Merwe, 10 Christopher Smith, 9 Remu Malan, 8 Janco Venter, 7 Marno Redelinghuys, 6 Mitchell Carstens, 5 Johan Momsen, 4 Ernst van Rhyn, 3 Johan Fouche, 2 Arnoldi Wilmar, 1 Chippie Oelofse (captain).

Replacements – 16 Hendrik Luus, 17 Ricky Nwagbara, 18 Piet Strauss, 19 Brandon Valentyn, 20 Stephan Streicher, 21 Logan Boonzaaier, 22 Elden Schoeman, 23 Munier Hartzenberg.

Shimlas – 15 Nicholas Naude, 14 Athi Halom, 13 Carel-Jan Coetzee, 12 Sango Xamlashe, 11 Gideon Agenbag, 10 Lubabalo Dobela, 9 Dian Badenhorst, 8 Albertus de Bod, 7 Menzi Nhlabathi, 6 Jan Cloete, 5 Henk Pretorius, 4 Raymond Woest, 3 Mogau Mabokela, 2 Hanno Snyman, 1 Johan Kotze (captain).

Replacements – 16 JC Jansen van Vuuren, 17 Wentzel Vorster, 18 Janu Botha, 19 Rholane Ncubuka, 20 Christoffel Roelofse, 21 Zinedene Booysen, 22 Francois Pretorius, 23 Sechaba Matsoele. – MORGAN PIEK