OFM’s Simmons named in SA hockey squad


South Africa Hockey has named their senior women’s squad for next year’s African Hockey Cup of Nations in Ghana and the team has a fresh look to it with youth and experience.

Bernadette Coston, Lilian du Plessis and Quanita Bobbs are the most experienced names in the squad

While it is a new era for the team, there are three uncapped players named as well.

These new faces include OFM’s very own Shindre-Lee Simmons.

The other uncapped players are Stephanie Botha of Western Province and Nompilo Thenjwayo of Southern Gauteng.

Simmons told OFM Sport that going into a major tournament will be a good yardstick in terms of measuring her ability against the best the continent has to offer.

“I think that this is very good platform to start, especially going into a tournament like the Africa Cup of Nations.

“There you can weigh yourself up against the other African teams and individually to see if you can actually play at that level. I’m very excited and now the training starts.”

Simmons added that having the senior and experienced players around such as Du Plessis and Bobbs will help in term of learning.

There is a lot of experience and youth like myself going into the tournament. I think that there is really a good background and platform to learn from in terms of their experience.

“Lillian (du Plessis) has played overseas and so have Quanita (Bobbs), so there is a lot to learn from them, which I’m very excited about.

When it comes to her personal goals in Ghana, she just wants to play to the best of her ability and to do the country proud.

“To play the best hockey I can and just to represent my country and my brand of hockey to the best of my ability.”

The series will also see Inky Zondi take charge of the team for the first time as coach, while Lenise Marais will be the assistant coach.

African Hockey Cup of Nations will be played from 17 to 23 January in Accra.

South Africa – Quanita Bobbs, Stephanie Botha, Erin Christie, Bernadette Coston, Lilian Du Plessis, Tegan Fourie, Tarryn Glasby, Robyn Johnson, Lerato Mahole, Ongeziwe Mali, Marizen Marais, Phumelela Mbande, Mmatshepo Modipane, Kristen Paton, Hannah Pearce, Shindre-Lee Simmons, Nompilo Thenjwayo, Nomnikelo Veto. – MORGAN PIEK