Nonkontwana starts against Golden Lions

Abongile Nonkontwana PHOTO: MORGAN PIEK

The Toyota Free State Cheetahs have made just one change to their starting XV for Saturday’s Currie Cup fixture against the Golden Lions in Johannesburg.

Abongile Nonkantwana has been named in the starting line-up at flank in the place of Gerhard Olivier.

This is due to the injury to Oupa Mohoje, which lead to Oliver being flown to Wales for the Guinness Pro14 game against the Ospreys.

Nonkontwana who represented the Junior Springboks at the World Rugby Junior World Championships, made his Free State debut last week during the 33-29 defeat to the Sharks in Bloemfontein.

During his brief time on the field, the player made an impact with some strong ball carries.

The Free State coach, Daan Human, told OFM Sport that he has been impressed with Nonkontwana since he joined the team.

“I went through the game footage again, and during that little time he had on the field he had five or six carries.

“The was definitely a bit of will and what in him and I cannot wait to see him fitting in from the start of a game. I am really looking forward to it.

“I have only heard good things about him. I spoke to Gary Botha about him, and I spoke to the guy in charge of the recruiting at the Bulls about him.

“Obviously we need to do a bit of homework before we get a player, and I‘m very glad that we’ve got him here at the Free State.”

With Mohoje expected to be on the sidelines for anywhere between 6 and 9 months, Nonkontwana, has a real opportunity to showcase his talent and even stake a claim in the Pro14 setup.

Saturday’s game at Ellis Park kicks off at 16:20.

Golden Lions – 15 Sylvian Mahuza, 14 Madosh Tambwe, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Howard Mnisi, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Shaun Reynolds, 9 Dillon Smit, 8 Hacjivah Dayimani, 7 Len Massyn, 6 James Venter, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Rhyno Herbst, 3 Jacobie Adriaanse, 2 Pieter Jansen, 1 Sti Sithole.

Replacements – 16 Corné Fourie, 17 Danie Mienie, 18 Stephen Bhasera, 19 Reinhard Nothnagel, 20 Vincent Tshituka, 21 Bradley Thain, 22 Wandisile Simelane

Toyota Free State Cheetahs – 15 Adriaan Carelse, 14 Ali Mgijima, 13 Carel-Jan Coetzee, 12 Tertius Kruger, 11 Lloyd Greeff, 10 Louis Fouche, 9 Rudy Paige (captain), 8 Niell Jordaan, 7 Stephan Malan, 6 Abongile Nonkontwana, 5 Dennis Visser, 4 Louis Conradie, 3 Gunther Janse van Vuuren, 2 Reinach Venter, 1 Kevin Stevens

Replacements – 16 Jannes Snyman, 17 Johan Kotze, 18 Luigi van Jaarsveld, 19 Nardus Erasmus, 20 Dian Badenhorst, 21 Vuyani Maqina, 22 Reinhart Erwee. – MORGAN PIEK