Municipal by-elections registration weekend


By-elections are scheduled to take place in two municipal wards in the Free State province on Wednesday, 5 September 2018. The two wards include Ward 2 in Nala Municipality and Ward 12 in the Ngwathe Municipality.

Voting stations will be open this Saturday, 21 July 2018, and Sunday, 22 July 2018, from 08h00 to 17h00 to allow all eligible voters to register and for current voters to check their registration details and to provide/update address details where necessary.

Voters should take their identity document (ID) with them – either a green barcoded ID book, a smartcard ID, or a valid Temporary ID Certificate. They will also need to complete their physical home address on registration or provide sufficient particularities of their place of residence. Documented proof of address (e.g. a municipal account) is not required.

Voters may also check and update their details at their local (municipal) Electoral Commission (IEC) office weekdays during office hours.

The IEC reminds voters that it is a criminal offence to register and vote in a ward in which they are not ordinarily resident.