Molotsane rules the roost at first 2018 Spar Ladies 10km


The Kovsies ace distance runner, Kesa Molotsane (KPMG, AFS) will be a tough nut to crack in the race for overall glory at the Spar Ladies 10km Grand Prix 2018 series. Molotsane, who won the series last year, made her intentions clear that she will not stand down from her crown without a fight when she reigned supreme at the first of six races of the 2018 series.

The first race of this year’s series was staged in Cape Town on Sunday and Molotsane thumbed a star studded field when she crossed the finishing line in 34:10. She thrashed her closest rival and reigning South African cross-country champion (10km), Glenrose Xaba (Boxer, CGA) by nearly a half a minute.

Xaba stopped the clock at 34:39 and was followed by former Spar Ladies 10km series champion, Irvette van Zyl (Nedbank, GN, 35:07), who in turn was close to a minute behind the victorious Moletsane.

Molotsane, Xaba and Van Zyl kept the main threat from Zimbabwean, Rudo Mhonderwa (Nedbank, Zimbabwe) comfortably at bay and she had to settle for fourth in 35:18.

Following the race Moletsane conceded that she has to crack on with it and set the pace for the race.

“It was a slow start because nobody knew the route, so as I approached the halfway mark I knew that this is the right moment to be in the race,” said Moletsane.

“Just after six kilometres I thought that maybe Glenrsose would move forward at take the lead. Fortunately she didn’t and I saw an opportunity to leave, otherwise we would have recorded a very slow time at the end of the race.

“So I pushed it a bit forward. It was fairly slow, but still good for a route with quite a bit of uphills and downhills.”

Results of the SPAR Women’s 10km Grand Prix run at the Bellville Stadium on Sunday

Senior: 1. Kesa Molotsane (KPMG Free State) 34.10; 2. Glenrose Xaba (Boxer CGA) 34.39; 3. Irvette van Zyl (Nedbank Gauteng North) 35.07; 4. Rudo Mhonderwa (Nedbank Running Club Zimbabwe) 35.18; 5. Zintle Xiniwe (KPMG WP) 35.43; 6. Cherise Sims (Born 2 Run) 35.45; 7. Maria Shai (Boxer CGA) 35.50; 8. Christine Kalmer (KPMG CGA) 35.58; 9.Olga Firsova (Durbanville AC) 36:03; 10.Anel Terblanche (KPMG) 36:20

14-19: 1. Jane le Roux 41.40; 2. Mia Lions 42.46; 3. Leila Abouzaid 43.24

40-49: 1. Bulelwa Simae 38.02; Christine Adriaanse 39.15; Ronel Thomas 40.00

50-59: 1. Judy Bird 40-02; 2. Obertino Kanyongo 40.52; 3. Ester Brink 41.22

60-69: 1. Nancy Will 45.21; 2. Beverley Charters 46.33; 3. Judith Grove 53.06

70+: 1. Veronica van Niekerk 53.29; 2. Marietha Herbert 54.04; 3. Pixie Sparg 56.59 – RUFUS BOTHA