Maartens to return against the Griquas

Daniel Maartens PHOTO: MORGAN PIEK

The Toyota Free State Cheetahs have made five changes to their starting side for Saturday’s Currie Cup derby against the Tafel Lager Griquas in Kimberley.

Upfront, the Shimlas captain, Johan Kotze, starts at loosehead prop and the exciting flanker, Daniel Maartens, returns from injury and replaces Niell Jordaan.

With Maartens playing, the newly signed Abongile Nonkontwana swops sides at the scrum, while Stephan Malan starts at the back of the scrum.

The reason for Jordaan moving to the Pro14 team is due Jasper Wiese having taken a knock on the shoulder during the game against the Ospreys last week.

Ernst Stapelberg, who was on tour in the Pro14, starts at flyhalf, while Vuyani Maqina replaces the injured Lloyd Greeff on the wing.

Louis Fouché has been the starting backline general for the Free State for the past two weeks, but he too has been promoted to the Pro14 squad and is set for a crack against the Glasgow Warriors on Saturday.

The captain, Rudy Paige, told Courant that they need to put in an 80-minute performance.

“It goes without say that were would like to play our natural and attacking brand of rugby,” says the Springbok scrumhalf.

“With that goes tries, but for that to happen, you need to hold onto the ball and keep possession.

“So, getting the ball and keeping it will be the biggest priority, and we would love to score some tries.

“We can only control the controllable during the 80 minutes. It is a derby, so there with be a bit more emotion that goes into it.

“We just need to play good rugby for the 80 minutes and make sure that we are competitive.”

Saturday’s derby in Kimberley kicks off at 17:15.

Tafel Lager Griquas – 15 AJ Coertzen, 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Kyle Steyn (captain), 12 Andre Swarts, 11 Enver Brandt, 10 George Whitehead, 9 Christiaan Meyer, 8 Jonathan Janse van Rensburg, 7 Sias Koen, 6 Eital Bredenkamp, 5 Pieter Jansen van Vuren, 4 Wandile Putuma, 3 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2 Wilmar Arnoldi, 1 Liam Hendricks.

Replacements – 16 AJ le Roux, 17 Nicolaas Oosthuizen, 18 FP Pelser, 19 Wendal Wehr, 20 Zak Burger, 21 Stephan Janse van Rensburg, 22 Christopher Bosch

Toyota Free State Cheetahs – 15 Adriaan Carelse, 14 Ali Mgijima, 13 Care-Jan Coetzee, 12 Tertius Kruger, 11 Vuyani Maqina, 10 Ernst Stapelberg, 9 Rudy Paige (captain), 8 Stephan Malan, 7 Abongile Nonkontwana, 6 Daniel Maartens, 5 Dennis Visser, 4 Louis Conradie, 3 Gunther Janse van Vuuren, 2 Reinach Venter, 1 Johan Kotze

Replacements – 16 Kevin Stevens, 17 Jannes Snyman, 18 Stefan van Schalkwyk, 19 Nardus Erasmus, 20 Luigy van Jaarsveld, 21 Dian Badenhorst, 22 Ryno Eksteen. – MORGAN PIEK