Louzanne and Saints receive SA Sports Awards nominations

St Andrews School 1st XI cricket team PHOTO: MORGAN PIEK

The T11 5000-m world record holder, Louzanne Coetzee of Bloemfontein, has received a South African Sport Awards nomination.

The blind Coetzee has been nominated for the Sportswoman of the Year with Disability award, following an outstanding season. Recently Coetzee nearly broke the T11 marathon world record during the Berlin Marathon. This was during just her second attempt at the 42.2km. She will be up against Anrune Liebenberg and Melisa Ann O’Niel for the award.

Meanwhile, the first cricket team of St Andrew’s School in Bloemfontein has been nominated for the School team of the Year along with St Benedict’s College and Clapham High School.

In March, Saints were crowned as the SA Schools T20 champions after beating Hilton College in the final in Pretoria.

Full list of nominees: Sports Administrator of the Year – Virginia Mabaso, Wendy May Gila, Mashilo Matsetela; Sportsman of the Year – Chad le Clos, Hekkie Budler, Luvo Manyonga, Sportsman of the Year with a Disability – Charl du Toit, Pieter du Preez, Jonathan Ntutu; Sportswoman of the Year – Bianca Zoonekynd, Ashleigh Moolman Pasio, Caster Semenya, Sportswoman of the Year with Disability – Anrune Liebenberg, Melisa Ann O’Niel, Louzanne Coetzee; Team of the Year – Banyana Banyana, Lions (rugby), Blitzboks; Newcomer of the Year – Tatjana Schoenmaker, Minke Janse van Rensburg, Luxolo Adam; Coach of the Year – Suzanne Ferreira, Samuel Sepeng, Nico Coetzee; Volunteer of the Year – Linda Hlophe, Mpho Makhoba, Nkosilathi Moyo; Indigenous Games Team of the Year – Ncuva team, Limpopo, Cape Winelands Drie Stokkies, Western Cape, Morabaraba Team, KwaZulu-Natal; National Federation of the Year – Softball, Roller Sport, Gymnastics; Recreation body of the Year – The Surfer Kids, Mbekweni Community Sport, Mavu Sport Development; Photographer of the Year – Nick Lourens, Reinhardt Hamman, Steve Haag; Sports journalist of the Year – Charles Balyoi, Mohono Motshidisi, Robert Mathye; School team of the Year – St Benedict’s College, Clapham High School, St Andrew’s School (Bloemfontein); Developing school team of the Year – Machakela-Mamodibo Secondary School, Troyville Primary School, Ndabenhle Primary School; The People’s Choice of the Year – Caster Semenya, Chad le Clos, Luvo Manyonga, Zolani Tete, Percy Tau; Sports Star of the Year – Caster Semenya, Kagiso Rabada, Hekkie Budler. – MORGAN PIEK