FS wins National Clay Target Shooting Championship


The Clay Target Association's annual interprovincial championship was held in Limpopo over the weekend. Eight provinces and a team from Zimbabwe competed for the coveted "Chairman's Cup". Each province had a team of 12 members divided into four teams of three members each, all shooting in different disciplines: ATA Trap, NSSA Skeet, Universal Trench and FITAS Sporting.

In difficult, windy conditions, the Free State team was 16 targets up the nearest competitor on Saturday evening and the pressure was on. The team showed its mettle by putting their heads down and breaking one clay at a time to maintain the 16 target lead on Sunday to win the overall title. 

Not only did the Free State win the overall trophy, but the team won gold in ATA Trap and Sporting as well as silver in Universal Trench and a 4th in Skeet, only 3 targets behind second place.

The Free State team has a number of members with years of experience and Proteas colours as well as a few juniors. This combination of youth and experience produced one of the most formidable teams that the Free State has had in years.

1st: Overall winners – Gold – Free State.
2nd: Silver – Gauteng North.
3rd: Bronze – Eastern Cape.

Team results
ATA: Koos Davel, Chris Davel, Dyson Trisos – Gold medal,
Sporting: Tim Hubner, Douw Steyn, Derek Steyn – Gold medal,
Universal : Neels Bornman, Frans Swart, Praskeva Papa – Silver Medal
Skeet: Willy Wools, Barry du Toit, Evan Healey – 4th place.