FS municipalities to reach Eskom deadline



Three Free State municipalities will reach their deadline and submit payment plans to Eskom by the end of this month.

This is according to provincial Treasury Department’s spokesperson, Sello Molibeli. Earlier this month, Eskom agreed to suspend the disconnection of electricity at Dihlabeng, Maluti a Phofung and Ngwathe – which comprise Bethlehem, Qwaqwa and Parys respectively, to the end of the month.

Ngwathe owes Eskom R216 million, Maluti-a-Phofung R32 million and Dihlabeng R58 million. Molibeli says is part of the agreement they had with Eskom to allow municipalities to implement payment plans in ensuring Eskom will be paid.

“The payment plan has to be approved by council and all those municipalities have to convene special council meetings this week to approve those. We have had consultations with those municipalities as the Department of Free State provincial Treasury. Maluti-a-Phofung had a scheduled council meeting on Monday and on Tuesday it will be Dihlabeng and Ngwathe where those payment plans will be approved,” said Molibeli.

Some of the towns involved are Parys, Vredefort, Heilbron, Koppies, Harrismith, Kestel, Phuthaditjhaba, Witsieshoek, Bethlehem, Fouriesburg, Paul Roux and Rosendal.