Frustrated media leaves ANC conference

A delay in proceedings of almost four hours has led to some media members leaving the venue of the Free State ANC's Provincial Elective Conference. PHOTO: PULANE CHOANE

Some members of the media have begun to leave Ilanga Estate outside Bloemfontein where the Free State ANC’s Provincial Elective Conference (PEC) was scheduled to start at 09:00 this morning. Before leaving the venue, the media members expressed their frustration with the delay in proceedings of almost four hours.

Meanwhile, a source close to the ANC told Bloemfontein Courant at the conference that the ANC in the Free State has opted for current Premier Sefora Ntombela as the new chairperson, Mamiki Qabathe as the provincial secretary and Mojalefa Buti as the Treasurer.

The source, who spoke to Courant on condition of anonymity, predicted that these three names would be the names of the ANC in the province’s new leaders as the party now intends on promoting more youth and females to key leadership positions within the party.

Qabathe is currently the Speaker of the Free State Legislature, while Buti is the Chairperson of the Free State Young Communists League (YCL).

The source also predicted that current chairperson of the ANC in the Free State, Makalo Mohale, will serve as Ntombela’s second in command. Free State ANCYL secretary Reagan Booysen is apparently earmarked for the position of Deputy Secretary of the ANC in the province.

The source was not able to say who has been identified for the position of Deputy Treasurer. – Pulane Choane