Free State XV opt for continuity against Griquas


The Toyota Free State XV have opted for continuity heading into their SuperSport Rugby Challenge semi-final against the Tafel Lager Griquas on Saturday afternoon.

The coach, Daan Human, has made just two changes to his starting XV, and both of them are at prop.

Erich de Jager has been ruled out due to a concussion, and Boan Venter starts at loosehead.

At tighthead, Luan de Bruin has been moved to the bench for the game and this sees Gunter Janse van Rensburg starting.

The captain Niell Jordaan, as well as, Gerhard Olivier and Jasper Wiese form the formidable loose-trio again and they will be in for a royal battle against the Peacock Blues.

Their direct opposition on Saturday will be De Wet Kruger, Sias Koen and Conway Pretorius.

Jordaan, told Courant that as a loose trios, neutralising their counterparts will be very important if they want to win the game.

“It’s always a great challenge playing against the Griquas, because their loosies always produce on the day.

“They always have good ball carriers who are also strong in the tackle.

“For us a guy like Jasper showed us last week what he is capable of and I’m happy that he is hitting his straps towards the backend on the competition.

“Gerhard has been performing solidly throughout the competition and he always wears his heart on his sleeve.

“I love playing with them and I know that when I’m out on the field with them, I have two guys next to me who always give their all.

“As the backrow if we can produce and eliminate their backrow, it will be positive for us and it will give guys like Carel-Jan Coetzee and Benhard Janse van Rensburg more opportunities.”

Saturday’s semi-final at Tafel Lager Park in Kimberley kicks off at 15:00.

Tafel Lager Griquas – 15 AJ Coertzen,14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Christopher Bosch, 12 Johnathan Francke, 11 Kyle Steyn, 10 George Whitehead, 9 Christian Meyer, 8 Conway Pretorius, 7 Sias Koen, 6 De Wet Kruger, 5 Pieter van Vuren, 4 Sintu Manjezi, 3 Nicolaas Oosthuizen, 2 Khwezi Mkhafu, 1 Devon Martinus.

Replacements – 16 AJ le Roux, 17 Liam Hendricks, 18 Ruan Kramer 19 FP Pelser, 20 Damian Stevens, 21 Jono van Rensburg, 22 Andre Swarts.

Toyota Free State XV – 15 Darren Adonis, 14 Francois Agenbach 13 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 12 Carel-Jan Coetzee, 11 Vuyani Maqina, 10 Ernst Stapelberg, 9 Rudy Paige, 8 Jasper Wiese, 7 Gerhard Olivier, 6 Niell Jordaan (captain), 5 Dennis Visser, 4 Sibabalo Qoma, 3 Gunter Janse  van Rensburg, 2 Reinach Venter, 1 Boan Venter.

Replacements – 16 Joseph Dweba, 17 Luan de Bruin, 18 Stephan Malan, 19 Justin Basson, 20 Ntokozo Vidima, 21 Ruan van Rensburg, 22 Sango Xamlashe. – MORGAN PIEK