Free State Education stands out at national teaching awards 

The Free State Department of Education has scooped no less than four first places in the annual National Teaching Awards held in Midrand, Gauteng, at the weekend.

Jolinda Daniel from Parys High School won the Excellence in School Teaching Award, while the Excellence in Grade R Teaching belonged to Ntsolo Ramabodu from the Nelson Mandela Primary School in Sasolburg. Sandile Mdlalose from Thoboloha Special School in Qwaqwa scooped the Excellence in Special Needs category and Andrew William Taylor from Brebner High School in Bloemfontein won the Excellence in Lifetime Achievement Category. Provincial education spokesperson, Howard Ndaba, says this is solid proof that the Free State is a fountain of hard-working, diligent and excellent teachers.

The Free State also claimed two third places. Former Headmaster of Grey College High in Bloemfontein, Johan Volsteedt, in the Kader Asmal Excellence Category, came third while Gerhard Malan from Aurora Primary School in Welkom received a third place in the Technology-enhanced Teaching and Learning Category.

The fact that the department returned with a total of six awards is a true indication that there is a solid working relationship between the department and teachers. “We are proud of them.” Their hard work and excellence are appreciated.

Ndaba says all teachers are encouraged to participate annually in the awards as the department believes it consists of a lot of hard-working and dedicated teachers who need to be honoured for their contribution towards education in general.

He adds the MEC of Education, Tate Makgoe, is over the moon with the achievement. According to Ndaba, Makgoe said winning four positions is no child’s play, considering it’s the best of the best competing at national level.