Free State Commonwealth Games Participation


As the Commonwealth Games kick-off today, 23 July 2014, the MEC for Sport, Arts, Culture and Recreation in the Free State, Mrs Mathabo Leeto, will like to send her best wishes to the entire contingent of athletes from the Free State who will represent
the country at these games.

The Department is overjoyed by the inclusion of Free State athletes in Team SA that will participate at the Commonwealth Game. Many of these athletes have received sport science support from the Department’s Free State Sport Science Institute (FSSSI) to prepare them for participation at international sport events such as Commonwealth.

The athletes are: Wayde Lee-Roy van Niekerk, Elsie Magdalena De Villiers, Willem Abraham Viljoen, Adele Niemand, Karla Mostert, Juanelie Meijer, Johan Cronje, Josephus Jacobs, Kifiloe Tsotetsi, Maryka Holtzhausen, Frederik Coetzee and Kate Roberts.

The Free State athletes will participate in sporting codes such as Athletics, Badmanton, Netball, Para Athletes etc.

The South African Sport Confederation Committee (SASCOC) announced Team South Africa for this year’s Commonwealth Games on11 June. The Team consists of an initial squad of 155 of the country’s finest athletes, spread over 15 codes.

Sporting codes that Team South Africa will contest at the Games (from 23 July to 3 August) are the following: aquatics (including para-swimming), athletics (including para-athletics), badminton, boxing, cycling, gymnastics, hockey, judo, lawn bowls, netball, para-powerlifting, rugby sevens, shooting, triathlon, weightlifting and wrestling.

As with the 2012 Olympic Games in London, Sport and Recreation South Africa (SRSA) will again host “Ekhaya” (Home away from home).

“Ekhaya” is intended to showcase what South Africa has to offer as a country in terms of culture and heritage. More than 50 000 visitors experienced “Ekhaya” in London.

“I want to take this opportunity to wish our athletes the best of luck at the 2014 Commonwealth Games. May they do the country and the province proud by representing us well”, stated Mrs Leeto. – Issued by the Department of Sport, Arts, Culture and Recreation.