Eskom served termination notice despite agreement



Eskom served a notice today to disconnect electricity in three Free State municipalities, despite having an agreement with the provincial Treasury Department.

According to Treasury’s spokesperson, Sello Modibedi, Eskom promised government in a meeting two weeks ago that they will not cut electricity around Maluti-a-Phofung, Dihlabeng and Ngwathe Local Municipalities.

He said they have been made aware that Eskom has served a notice of terminating electricity on 4 August 2014. Modibedi added that the move was the standard procedure followed by Eskom to ensure the implementation of its debt recovery processes.

“We are just saying to the communities of those three municipalities that we want to give them our commitment that government is committed in resolving our issues between Eskom and the affected municipalities. There are still engagements continuing and the task team has been appointed to work on this matter,” he said.

Modibedi explained that Treasury, provincial Department of Cooperative Governance and Office of the Premier will continue to meet with Eskom as well as the Department of Public Enterprises to find a sustainable solution to this matter within the required time-frame.