Eskom Debt: Two FS municipalities without payment plans


Of the 27 defaulting municipalities, not all have arranged a payment plan to repay their debt to Eskom.

Eskom’s spokesperson, Khulu Phasiwe, says there are two municipalities that still need to reach a payment agreement with the power utility. The two municipalities are Ngwathe and Maluti a Phofung, both in the Free State Province.

According to Phasiwe, there are many municipalities around the country that owe Eskom. Although some do oblige to their payment commitments, others have become serious defaulters with debt payments outstanding for more than three years.

“In North West we have three and in the Free State we have six municipalities that owe us. It is important to note that cases of municipalities like Ngwathe and Maluti a Phofung are still being processed in court, which is why we have not received payment agreements yet.”

Phasiwe says National Treasury and the South African Local Government Association (Salga) will assist them to collect the money.