Entrepreneurial Programme deadline extended


The application period for Grade 12 learners to apply for the Allan Gray Orbis Foundation Fellowship Programme has been extended to 29 May 2020.

The Allan Gray Orbis Foundation, a foundation committed to investing in the education and development of individuals with entrepreneurial potential in Southern Africa, is calling on Grade 12 learners to apply for the Foundation’s 2020 Fellowship Programme.

The deadline has been extended to ensure applicants who show potential are not disadvantaged by the national lockdown, implemented to assist in reducing the spread of the Coronavirus.

“The Allan Gray Orbis Foundation believes that entrepreneurially minded individuals with ethical values and strong leadership skills hold the promise of change. We stand behind entrepreneurs improving the socio-economic landscape of Southern Africa. Our mission is to foster such impact by providing youth demonstrating the highest potential access to education and cultivating within them an entrepreneurial mindset,” stated the foundation’s Rethabile Lechela.

The Fellowship Programme gives students a stepping-stone to nurture their entrepreneurial potential in order for them to grow into well-rounded, responsible entrepreneurs, and is one of four Programmes offered by the Foundation.

Through its Scholarship Programme, the Foundation also offers high school scholarships to learners who are in financial need; have a curious, entrepreneurial mindset; and are high academic achievers. The Allan Gray Entrepreneurship Challenge is aimed at cultivating a culture of entrepreneurship among high school learners, using gamification. The Association is an Alumni of Allan Gray Fellows that have graduated from the Fellowship Programme and offers lifelong support for their entrepreneurial journey.

Fellowship recipients, known as Allan Gray Candidate Fellows, receive support and development to cultivate an entrepreneurial mindset, as well as funding for university studies.

In order to qualify for the fellowship applicants must intend to study towards a degree in Commerce, Science, Engineering, Law, Humanities, Arts & Health Science (excluding Medicine, Veterinary Science and Dentistry) at various universities. These include the University of the Witwatersrand (WITS); University of Johannesburg (UJ); University of Cape Town (UCT); Nelson Mandela University (NMU), Rhodes University (RU); the University of the Western Cape (UWC); University of Stellenbosch (SU), the University of Pretoria (UP), University of the Free State (UFS) or University of Kwa Zulu Natal (UKZN).

To apply visit www.allangrayorbis.org to download an application form, or

apply online, by visiting allangrayorbis.microsoftcrmportals.com.

Nomaqhawe Mtebele