Election registrations to be held after two councillors resign


The Electoral Commission of South Africa (IEC) will open registrations for residents of Viljoenskroon and Welkom this weekend after two councillors resigned. This is in preparation for municipal by-elections that are set to take place in August.

IEC Communication and Stakeholder Liaison Officer Mathabo Rasengane, stated that stations will be open in various areas within the two contested wards. “Voting stations will be open this Saturday, 22 June and Sunday, 23 June 2019, from 08h00 to 17h00 to allow all eligible voters to register and for current voters to check their registration details and to update address details where necessary,” she said.

Voters will choose new councillors in Viljoenskroon’s Ward 20 and Welkom’s Ward 17. Presently, there are 2581 and 7302 registered voters in these areas, respectively. Special voters such as the elderly, handicapped and infirm may also register ahead of the by-elections.

“Special voting will take place at voting stations as well as through home visits on 6 August 2019, between 08h00 and 17h00. Voters wishing to apply to cast a special vote can apply at their local IEC office during office hours between 22 July 2019 and 26 July 2019,” explained Rasengane.

Registrations will be held at Kgabareng Secondary School and The Prayer House in Viljoenskroon. In Welkom voting stations will include Adelaide Tambo Technical School, Lemotso Primary School, End of Age Church, Dr Mngoma Primary School and Living Hope Church.

Nomaqhawe Mtebele