Cheetahs name strong side for battle against SWD


The Toyota Cheetahs have named a strong team for Tuesday evenings’ all-important Currie Cup Premier Division promotion-relegation clash against the SWD Eagles in Bloemfontein.

Earlier the Cheetahs coach, Franco Smith, indicated that he will use the strongest possible team for the match, however, with a big game on Sunday against Munster in the Guinness Pro14, some players are being rested.

Smith has opted for a mix between the Currie Cup and Pro14 sides, while Walt Steenkamp, Sintu Manjezi and Rhyno Smith are ineligible are they were attached to other teams in Currie Cup.

The team is however still a very strong side and has a bench that will be able to make a lot of impact, especially as rolling subs will be used for the game.

Smith told Courant that even though they finished the Currie Cup without a win, they deserve to be playing in the Premier Division, and as from next season things should be a lot easier.

“We are a proud union, and we had the Currie Cup here 18 months ago. We set ourselves the goal of competing in and winning both competitions.

“On Tuesday night it will also be the first step in the Currie Cup, and for us to win the tournament next year, we will be treating this game as if it is a final.

“People tend to forget that not too long ago we won 17 Currie Cup games in a row.

“Splitting your resources is a big challenge, however, from what we understand as from next year the two competitions will not being overlapping.”

Tuesday evening’s game at the Toyota Stadium kicks off at 18:00.

Toyota Cheetahs – 15 Malcolm Jaer, 14 Ali Mgijima, 13 William Small-Smith, 12 Nico Lee, 11 Rabz Maxwane, 10 Louis Fouché, 9 Tian Meyer (captain), 8 Junior Pokomela, 7 Abongile Nonkontwana, 6 Niell Jordaan, 5 Dennis Visser, 4 Justin Basson, 3 Aranos Coetzee, 2 Reinach Venter, 1 Charles Marais.

Replacements – 16 Joseph Dweba, 17 Ox NChe, 18 Stephan Malan, 19 Aidon Davis, 20 Daniel Maartens, 21 Rudy Paige, 22 Tian Schoeman.

SWD Eagles – 15 Marlo Weich, 14 Alshaun Bock, 13 Kirsten Heyns, 12 Tyler Fisher, 11 Adri Jacobs, 10 Divan Nel, 9 Johannes Steyn, 8 Wayne Wilschut, 7 Nicolaas Immelman, 6 Johannes Stander, 5 Johannes Janse van Rensburg, 4 Ruben Schoeman, 3 Gift Sofisa, 2 Jacques Vermaak (captain), 1 Luxolo Koza.

Replacements – 16 Le Roux Baard, 17 Theunis Niewoudt, 18 Dewald Dekker, 19 Brendon Esterhuizen, 20 Reinhardt Stears, 21 Vuyo Mbotho, 22 Ganfield May. – MORGAN PIEK