Chanté selected for World Champs in Flanders

Chanté Olivier is currently in Egypt preparing to represent South Africa at the UCI Junior Track World Championships at the beginning of September. PHOTO: MORGAN PIEK

The Bloemfontein teenager, Chanté Olivier, has been included in the South African team for the 2021 UCI Road Cycling World Championships in Belgium.

Olivier has been selected to compete in the individual time trial for Junior Women.
Olivier is currently in Egypt where she is preparing for the upcoming Junior Track World Championships in Cairo.

The Elite women’s team for Belgium includes the former Bloemfonteiner and Olympian, Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio, while the men’s team includes Daryl Impey, Stefan de Bod and Nicholas Dlamini.

Recently Moolman-Pasio, who attended Eunice School for Girls in Bloemfontein, competed in the Tokyo Olympics in Japan where she put on the country’s best display in cycling during the women’s individual time trial at the Tokyo Olympics.

Moolman-Pasio finished eighth in the 22.1km time trial in a time of 32:37.60.
In each age group only two men and two women riders get selected to compete in the individual time trial.

In March, Olivier won several gold medals during the Africa Continental Championships, which was also staged in Cairo. Another Free Stater and Olympian, Carla Oberholzer, excelled with four gold medals.

The world championships in Flanders will be running from 19 to 26 September.

Full South African team:
Junior Women – Chloe Bateson, Caitlin Thompson (TT), Chante Olivier (TT), Sonica Klopper. Non-Travelling Reserve – McKenzie Pedro.
Junior Men – Jason Eggett (TT), Warren Moolman, Chanton Perrins, Pedri Crause (TT). Non-Travelling Reserve – Jason Bruintjies.
Under 23 Men – Marc Oliver Pritzen (TT), Travis Barrett, Travis Stedman, Jason Oosthuizen (TT), Callum Ormiston. Non-Travelling Reserve – Alex Worsdale.
Elite Women – Ashleigh Moolman Pasio, Hayley Preen (TT), Kerry Jonker, Frances Janse van Rensburg (TT), Courteney Webb, Tiffany Keep. Non-Travelling Reserve – Azulde Britz.
Elite Men – Daryl Impey, Stefan de Bod (TT), Nicholas Dlamini, Reinhardt Janse van Rensburg, Ryan Gibbons (TT), Jayde Julius. Non-Travelling Reserve – Gustav Basson. – MORGAN PIEK