Cabinet members announced

President Cyril Ramaphosa, alongside Chief Justice Raymond Zondo, during his inauguration. PHOTO: SCREENGRAB

South African President Cyril Ramaphosa announced the new members of the National Executive on 30 June 2024. Ramaphosa mentioned South African citizens made it quite clear by casting their votes that they expect political parties to work together to deliver on a mandate of transformation, growth and renewal.

He further mentioned that in order to adhere to this mandate, it was agreed that a government of national unity (GNU), which brings together parties from across the political spectrum, should be formed.

“This GNU would be bound by certain fundamental principles and would undertake a basic minimum programme of priorities. Following discussions over the course of the last few weeks, a total of eleven parties have elected to work together in government and in Parliament,” Ramphosa mentioned.

The eleven parties include the African National Congress, Democratic Alliance, Patriotic Alliance, Inkatha Freedom Party, Good Party, Pan Africanist Congress of Azania, Freedom Front Plus, United Democratic Movement, Al Jama-ah, Rise Mzansi and the United Africans Transformation.

The president further decided to merge various portfolios. The ministries of Electricity and Energy will be merged. There will be a separate Ministry of Mineral and Petroleum Resources.

Ramaphosa added the Ministry of Agriculture will be separated from the ministry of Land Reform and Rural Development.

The Ministry of Higher Education will be separated from the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation. The Ministry of Justice and Constitutional Development will be separated from the Ministry of Correctional Services.

There will no longer be a Ministry of Public Enterprises. The coordination of the relevant public enterprises will be located in the Presidency during the process of implementing a new shareholder model.

The appointments to the National Executive are as follows:


The Deputy President is Paul Mashatile.

The Minister of Agriculture is John Steenhuisen.

The Minister of Land Reform and Rural Development is Mzwanele Nyhontso.

The Minister of Basic Education is Siviwe Gwarube.

The Minister of Communications and Digital Technologies is Solly Malatsi.

The Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs is Velinkosi Hlabisa.

The Minister of Defence and Military Veterans is Angie Motshekga.

The Minister of Electricity and Energy is Kgosientsho Ramokgopa.

The Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation is Blade Nzimande.

The Minister of Employment and Labour is Nomakhosazana Meth.

The Minister of Finance is Enoch Godongwana.

The Minister of Forestry, Fisheries and the Environment is Dion George.

The Minister of Health is Aaron Motsoaledi.

The Minister of Higher Education is Nobuhle Nkabane.

The Minister of Home Affairs is Leon Schreiber.

The Minister of Human Settlements is Mmamoloko Kubayi.

The Minister of International Relations and Cooperation is Ronald Lamola.

The Minister of Justice and Constitutional Development is Thembi Nkadimeng.

The Minister of Mineral and Petroleum Resources is Gwede Mantashe.

The Minister of Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation is Maropene Ramokgopa.

The Minister of Police is Senzo Mchunu.

The Minister in the Presidency is Khumbudzo Ntshavheni.

The Minister of Public Service and Administration is Mzamo Buthelezi.

The Minister of Public Works and Infrastructure is Dean Macpherson.

The Minister of Small Business Development is Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams.

The Minister of Social Development is Sisisi Tolashe.

The Minister of Sport, Arts and Culture is Gayton McKenzie.

The Minister of Tourism is Patricia De Lille.

The Minister of Trade, Industry and Competition is Parks Tau.

The Minister of Transport is Barbara Creecy.

The Minister of Water and Sanitation is Pemmy Majodina.

The Minister of Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities is Sindisiwe Chikunga.

The Minister of Correctional Services is Pieter Groenewald.


For more information on the cabinet and deputy ministers:


Compiled by Abigail Visagie