ANC keeps 5 out 15 wards in by-elections

Photo: The South African

The By-elections in Maluti-A-Phofung Municipality on Wednesday resulted in 10 new independent ward councillors. Residents of the municipality voted in the new councillors for their wards, which were previously won by the ANC during the 2016 Municipal Elections. However, the party retains 5 wards after yesterday’s ballots were cast.

The IEC held by-elections in Maluti-A-Phofung yesterday after the ANC expelled 15 of its councillors last year. The ward councillors were found guilty by the party of voting with opposition parties during the election of the Executive Mayor, Gilbert Mokotso, and thereafter resigned from their positions.

According to IEC Free State Communications Liaison Officer, Mmathabo Rasengane, various parties including EFF and DA took part in the by-elections. “The by-elections were contested by 89 candidates from 6 political parties and 16 independent candidates. Ward 1 was contested by 5 candidates including an independent candidate, ANC, DA, EFF and ACM,” she stated.

Wards 1, 8, 15, 16, and 18 were won once again by the ANC while wards 7, 10 and 11, amongst others, were taken over by independent candidates. – Nomaqhawe Mtebele