Adonis to start against the Griquas


The Toyota Free State Cheetahs have made just one change to their starting team for Saturday’s Currie Cup derby against the Tafel Lager Griquas.

Darren Adonis will be starting at fullback in the place of Louis Fouché who moves to the bench.

On the bench, Marnus van der Merwe comes in for Jasper Wiese. Wiese, who scored a try during their 43-27 victory over the Blue Bulls was ruled out for the clash after a freak accident on Sunday which saw him getting stitches to his mouth.

The good news for the Cheetahs is that the Springbok loosehead prop, Ox Nche, recovered from his hamstring niggle and will be playing against the Peacock Blues.

The Cheetahs, Franco Smith, told OFM Sport that the Griquas can consider themselves as the favourites.

“I’ve got the world’s respect for what Brent Janse van Rensburg has been doing at the Griquas, and they have always been a very tough side with a lot of seasoned campaigners.

“A lot of them have got at least 50 caps or more, and this means that there is a bit of tradition and continuity in their squad over the last couple of years.

“We know that they are very determined to do well.

“They’ve shown that by the way that they approached the SuperSport Rugby Challenge and in their first two games of the Currie Cup. They have lost just one game this season.

“Their confidence is high and they are demanding respect from the rest of South Africa, and they deserve it.

“It sounds funny, but with the results over the last three months, they must look like the favourites. They are really on top of their game, and they would like to come and exhibit it here.”

Saturday’s derby at the Toyota Stadium kicks off at 15:00.

Meanwhile, the signing of the exciting outside back, Craig Barry has been confirmed. Barry who will join the Cheetahs as from the Guinness Pro14 has been a 3 year deal.

Toyota Free State Cheetahs – 15 Darren Adonis, 14 William Small-Smith, 13 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 12 Dries Swanepoel, 11 Rabz Maxwane, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Henco Venter, 7 Junior Pokomela, 6 Abongile Nonkontwana, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Sintu Manjezi, 3 Aranos Coetzee, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Ox Nche.

Replacements – 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Charles Marais, 18 Reinach Venter, 19 JP du Preez, 20 Marnus van der Merwe, 21 Gerhard Olivier, 22 Dian Badenhorst, 23 Louis Fouché.

Griquas – 15 George Whitehead (captain), 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Eduan Keyter, 12 André Swarts, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Zak Burger, 8 Niell Jordaan, 7 Sias Koen, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Johan Momsen, 4 Ian Groenewald, 3 Ewald van der Merwe, 2 AJ le Roux, 1 Khwezi Mona.

Replacements – 16 Wilmar Arnoldi, 17 Mox Moxili, 18 Victor Sekekete, 19 Zandre Jordaan, 20 Chriswill September, 21 Michal Haznar, 22 Grant Hermanus, 23 Ruan Kramer.   – MORGAN PIEK