Two FS municipalities to have electricity interruption due to non-payment


Eskom will interrupt electricity supply to two municipalities in the Free State Province with effect from this afternoon from 17:00 to 19:30 after they failed to honour their commitment to pay their outstanding debt by 10:00 this morning.

The electricity supplier says the Dihlabeng and Masilonyana municipalities in the Free State Province had agreed to make the relevant cash payment as negotiated with Eskom, a payment plan for the arrears as supported by a Council Resolution and a written undertaking in the form of a Council Resolution that current accounts will be honoured going forward.

In a statement issued this afternoon Eskom says the municipalities however defaulted on this and as a result will experience supply interruptions twice a day between 06:00 and 08:00; 17:00 and 19:30 from Monday to Friday.

Eskom says on weekends the electricity supply will be interrupted between 08:30 and 11:00 in the mornings as well as 15:00 and 17:30 in the afternoon.

Statement issued