Today, 106 years ago, General Louis Botha won the elections

General Louis Botha. Photo:

General Louis Botha and Hertzog’s South African Party (SAP) won the majority number of seats in the House Assembly after forming the first government of the Union of South Africa on 15 September 1910.

South African held its first election after the formation of the Union and Botha’s party claimed 67 out of 130 seats in parliament making it the majority.

The Unionist Party (UP) led by Leander Jameson, received 37 seats.

Crowds of party supporters gathered at Market Square in Johannesburg to hear the outcome of the parliamentary election.

Botha became the first Prime Minister of the Union holding office from 1910 to 1919.

Source: South African History Online

Courant News