Three FS municipal by-elections scheduled for 2017


Three municipal ward by-elections are scheduled to take place in the Free State and the Western Cape on Wednesday 1 February 2017.

In terms of the Constitutional Court ruling of 14 June 2016, the Electoral Commission is required to implement Section 16 (3) of the Electoral Act which requires that voters’ rolls should contain the address of voters “where available” for all future elections including by-elections.

For this reason the Electoral Commission urges all registered and potential voters in the affected wards to ensure their registration details and addresses are up to date by visiting the voting stations listed below this weekend Saturday 12 November and Sunday 13 November from 08h00 to 17h00.

Voters should take their ID document with them (either a green barcoded ID book, a smartcard ID or a valid Temporary ID Certificate).

They will also need to complete their physical home address on registration. However, documented proof of address (e.g. a municipal account) is not required.

Voters may also check and update their details at their local IEC office during office hours on weekdays.

By-elections will be held in the following wards/voting districts:

Free State:

  • Ward 12 in FS204 – Metsimaholo with 3 023 registered voters which became vacant as a result of the resignation of the councillor. Registration and voting will take place at the following stations:
Voting District/Station Number Voting Station Details


Special voting at voting stations as well as home visits will take place on 31 January 2017 between 08h00 and 17h00. Voters wishing to apply to cast a special vote must apply at their local IEC office during office hours between 16 and 20 January 2017.

For more information on these by-elections contact your local Municipal Electoral Officer during office hours. Contact details for Municipal Electoral Officers are available on the IEC website at under Contact Us.

Statement issued