Political parties gear up for Thaba Nchu by-elections

The by-elections will be held on March 1st 2017 in Thaba Nchu.


The Democratic Alliance (DA), Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF), Azanian Alliance Congress (AAC) and an independent candidate have signed the Code of Conduct and ballot paper on Wednesday, 15 February 2017, at the Mangaung Municipality IEC Free State, in Bloemfontein. The parties are part of those contesting the upcoming by-elections in Ward 39, Thaba Nchu.

The political parties that have met the electoral requirements and eligible to contest are as follows:

  • African National Congress (ANC) is represented by Nozenza Betty Cezula,
  • Democratic Alliance (DA) is represented by Kabelo Christopher Moreeng,
  • Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) is represented by Tsholohelo Moses Mosemeng,
  • Azanian Alliance Congress (AAC) is represented by Tshidisang Simon Tsie,
  • Congress of the People (COPE) is represented by Tatolo Abel Mphahlele,
  • Forum for Service Delivery (F4SD) is represented by Chiloane Enock Thole
  • Itumeleng McDonald Mosala is an Independent Candidate

At a special council meeting held on Tuesday, 14 February 2016, the council voted in favour of waiving the outdoor advertising fees for the by-elections.

The Provincial Manager of Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) Free State, Itumeleng Liba is encouraging those eligible to apply for Special Votes to make their request as soon as possible. “We urge the people eligible to vote during the by-elections to apply now. The applications were officially launched on Monday and will close on Friday,” he said.

Eligible voters can apply by sending their Identity Document (ID) numbers via SMS to the following number 32249, apply Online by visiting their IEC website at https://www.elections.org.za/content/For-Voters/Special-vote-online-application/, or call their local IEC office locally and submit a MEC 35 form.

About 10216 people are registered to vote and will be casting their votes at ten different voting stations. The stations earmarked as voting stations are: Mmabana community hall, Ereskuld Primary school, Rutegang FET, Barolong Hall, Itereleng Tswelopele Creche, Motlatla Primary School, Apha Child Care, Mama’s Touch Day Care, Ebenezer Edu-care Centre and Shammah Care Centre.

The special votes at voting stations and special vote home visit will be held on the 28th of March 2017 from 8h00 to 17h00.

The ward that is to be a contestation field was won by ANC during the 2016 municipal elections and it became vacant following the sudden death of councillor Tankiso Moea who died last year in November.

The by-elections will be held on March 1st 2017, from 07:00 till 21:00, in Thaba Nchu.

Seithati Semenokane / Courant News