NW Education Department recognises committed stakeholders

Departmental senior management flanked by the award winners at the QLTC Awards ceremony held at Sunrise View Primary School near Rustenburg. Photo: Supplied

The North West Education and Sport Development Department recognized and honoured the good efforts of the stakeholders who go an extra mile in contributing to education at a glittering gala event on Saturday, 14 November 2016, at Sunrise View Primary School near Rustenburg.

The President of the Republic of South Africa, Jacob Zuma during the State of the Nation Address once said “Education is a societal matter”.

This came after a growing realisation by the nation that government alone cannot address all of the challenges of the educational system and it needs to thus create space for social partners.

Quality Learning and Teaching Campaign (QLTC) was first launched in 2008, representatives of all the crucial role-players in education committed themselves to a Code for Quality Education which committed themselves and their members to accepting responsibility for improving the quality of learning and teaching in schools.

QLTC aims to mobilise the entire nation in support of quality education. In order to achieve this, co-ordinating structures are established at national, provincial, district (circuit) and school levels.

Each QLTC structure, that is school, districts, provincial and the national QLTC committees, are to monitor the adherence of the different role players to their respective pledges to assist in the improvement of the quality of learning and teaching.

About 1 000 people across the province attended the event and some of the senior management who were amongst the guests are follows; Dr Shadrack Mvula (Acting Head of Department), George Marindi (Director in the MEC Office), MaropeneSeshibe (Bojanala District) and Mojamorago Dithejane (Dr Ruth Segomotsi Mompati District).

In the QLTC Awards schools competed in the three categories namely; Best Organised File, Partnership and Networking.

Are Itshokeng Primary obtained the Overall Achiever in Dr Kenneth Kaunda District, Thuto Neo from Dr Ruth Segomotsi Mompati District obtained the first position, Kgalagatsane Primary School from Nhaka Modiri Molema District obtained the first position and Tlhophane Primary School from Bojanala District obtained Primary School.

“As the department, today we are recognizing good practice done by different stakeholders in all our schools across the province. We recognize those ladies and gentlemen who always share their precious time to make sure that our learners acquire quality learning and teaching.

“Again these awards will strengthen the contribution of all different stakeholders in the education sector and also entice other stakeholders to copy the positive contribution made by these esteemed stakeholders towards ensuring quality education”, said MEC Lehari.

Statement issued