Le Clos to swim in Bloem

South Africa's most successful Olympian, Chad le Clos, will be representing South Africa during the 2016 CANA African Swimming Championships in Bloemfontein. PHOTO: ROGER SEDRES/IMAGE SA

The City of Roses will be playing host to the 2016 CANA African Swimming Championships next month.

A total of nine swimmers that represented South Africa at the recent Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro will be representing the country in the City of Roses.

South Africa’s swimming golden boy, Chad le Clos, who became the country’s most successful Olympian with his silver in the 200m freestyle and in the 100m butterfly in Rio, will spearhead Team South Africa.

Cameron van der Burgh, who won the 100m breaststroke in Brazil, will also be competing at the event.

Myles Brown, Jarred Crous, Douglas Erasmus, Calvyn Justus and Brad Tandy are the other Olympians who will be competing in the pool, while Michelle Weber Chad Ho will be swimming in the open water event.

He did exceptionally well in Rio by claiming 10th in the men’s 10km swim and will be a good medal hope in Bloemfontein.

Le Clos’s long-time coach, Graham Hill, has been appointed as the head coach of Team South Africa with Mark Edge, Bianca Marais and Igor Omeltchenko being named as his assistants.
The 2016 CANA African Swimming Championships will be held at the Stadium Swimming Pool from 16 to 22 October with the open water event at Maselspoort on 23 October.

Team South Africa – Alaric Basson, Alard Basson, Jarryd Baxter, Martin Binedell, Myles Brown, Jarred Crous, Joshua Dannhauser, Neil de Villiers, Douglas Erasmus, Neil Fair, Michael Houlie, Clayton Jimmie, Edward Johannisen, Calvyn Justus, Chad le Clos, Keanu Silent, Ayrton Sweeney, Brent Szurdoki, Bradley Tandy, Cameron van der Burgh, Jacques van Wyk, Eben Vorster (Free State), Hanim Abrahams, Kiyana Bartleson, Kirsten Bellingan, Jessica Beukes, Lesley Blignaut, Kaylene Corbett, Khwezi Duma, Gabriella Grobler, Marli Jacobs, Caitlin Kat, Samantha Labuschagne, Rebecca Meder, Charlise Oberholzer, Nathania van Niekerk, Carissa van Rooyen, Mariella Venter, Michelle Weber, Jessica Whelan.
Open Water – Michelle Webber, Carmen le Roux, Chad Ho, Daniel Marais. – MORGAN PIEK