Grey cyclist second in 2016 Spur Schools MTB League finals

Rinus Maarsingh of Grey College in action at this year's Spur Schools MTB League finals.

A record Spur Schools Mountain Bike League season with regard to participation, which saw more than 10 500 kids competing across South Africa, culminated in a nail-biting final at Bekker School in Magaliesburg.
With 438 mountain bike riders representing 84 schools, all chasing points and the coveted title of Spur Schools Mountain Bike League champion, racing was fierce in hot and trying conditions.
Reigning Gauteng League champions, Menlo Park, pulled out all the stops to win the boys’ (118 points) and mixed team (121 points) trophies and walked off with the coveted title of National Spur Schools Mountain Bike League champions. The girls’ team from Potchefstroom Gimnasium were crowned as national girls champions (72 points) with Menlo Park High School taking second place (66 points) and Midstream College claiming third (59 points).
Only one point separated the second and third boys’ teams with Grey College second (100 points) and Paul Roos Gymnasium third (99 points). Parel Vallei High School earned 100 points, securing second place in the mixed team category with Transvalia in third place with 94 points.
On the Sunday, schools teamed up for the SASC Interprovincial Competition whereby the best 10 results got tallied to crown the best province. Defending champion, North West Province, in spite of its size, successfully defended its title as provincial champion logging 242 points. Gauteng finished in a close second with 240 points followed by Western Province in third place with 224 points.
Filling the rest of the spots on the log were Mpumalanga (190 points), KwaZulu-Natal (182 points), Free State (160 points), Limpopo (140 points), Namibia (88 points), Eastern Cape (62 points), Northern Cape (44 points) and Zimbabwe (38 points).