FS Salga elects new PEC

Municipalities in the Free State have elected their new South African Local Government Association (Salga) Provincial Executive Committee members.

At a two-day conference held in Welkom this week, Mangaung mayor Olly Mlamleli was elected chairperson, while her three deputies are Moqhaka mayor, Tshidi Koloi, Dihlabeng mayor, Lindiwe Makgalema and Mathjabeng mayor Nkosinjane Speelman.

The six additional members, who make up the PEC, are Zolile Mangcotywa, Brutus Mahlatsi,  Malefu Vilakazi, Mxolisi Siyonzana, Nozililo Mashiya and Boitumelo Seage.

Provincial executive officer Zamoxolo Futwa says they also nominated two candidates to be the provincial representatives in the national committee.

“We nominated two representatives, which shall be taken to the national conference of Salga. Once that conference agrees, these will be the representatives of the Free State in the NEC of Salga, councillor Sebenzile Ngangelizwe and councillor Charles Stofile.”

Seithati Semenokane/Courant News